Energy Country Review: Complimentary 7-day trial

  • News-alert sign up
  • Contact us

Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MoEP)

The Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MoEP) is in charge of policies to create an enabling environment for efficient operation and growth of the sector.
The institutional structure of the energy sub sector comprises of the Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MoEP), Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC), Kenya Electricity Generating Company (KenGen), Kenya Power and Lighting Company, the Rural Electrification Authority (REA), Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO), Geothermal Development Company (GDC), Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board (KNEB), Kenya Pipeline Company (KPC), National Oil Corporation of Kenya (NOCK), Kenya Petroleum Refinery Limited, private sector actors and energy service users/customers.
The Ministry has five Directorates namely, Petroleum Energy, Geo-Exploration, Renewable Energy, Electrical Power, and General Administration and Support Services to facilitate delivery of its mandate.